

David E. Pierce, Ph.D. Director

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries

251 Causeway Street, Suite 400 Boston, Massachusetts 02114 (617)626-1520 fax (617)626-1509

October 11, 2018

Honorable Coastal Select Boards of Gosnold, Falmouth, Mashpee, Barnstable, Yarmouth, Dennis, Harwich, Chatham, Orleans, Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, Provincetown, Brewster, Sandwich, Aquinnah, West Tisbury, Tisbury, Chilmark, Oak Bluffs, Edgartown and Nantucket.

Ladies and Gentlemen:

In accordance with Chapter 130, Section 74A of the Massachusetts General Laws, the Division of Marine Fisheries has closed the shellfish areas listed below as a precaution due predicted heavy rainfall and high winds from the remnants of Hurricane "Michael" expected to affect Massachusetts coastal areas on October 11th and 12th, 2018.

Therefore, under authority of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 130, Section 74A, the status of the below-defined areas will be changed to "**CLOSED TO SHELLFISHING**" and closed to the taking of all shellfish except conchs and scallop abductor muscles **effective at sunset on October 11, 2018**. Digging, harvesting or collecting and/or attempting to dig, harvest or collect shellfish and the possession of shellfish from the below-defined areas is prohibited.

Under authority of 322 CMR 7.01 (7) all permits issued there under are hereby conditioned to prohibit the taking, selling or possession of shellfish as stated above from the areas listed below. After the storm, holders of aquaculture licenses under the authority of Chapter 130, Section 57, MGL, may do necessary maintenance/retrieval of their equipment after notifying and with the consent of the local shellfish constable. No shellfish maybe harvested during the closure or removed from the site for culling.

STATUS: CLOSED TO THE TAKING OF ALL SHELLFISH AS DEFINED BELOW Except conchs and scallop abductor muscles

"The waters, flats and all tributaries of the following Designated Shellfish Growing Areas:

Gosnold E1-14, Cape Cod CCB1-CCB37, OC1-OC10, SC1-SC64, Nantucket Sound NS1-4, Nantucket NT1-NT14, Martha's Vineyard V1-V36.



Charles D. Baker Governor Karyn E. Polito Lieutenant Governor Matthew A. Beaton Secretary Ronald Amidon Commissioner Mary-Lee King Deputy Commissioner Those areas shall remain closed until notification has been received from the Division that the areas have been placed into the open status.

Sincerely,

David Since

David E. Pierce, Director

cc: J. McGinn, Abdul-Khabir, P. Moran, DELE
D. McKiernan, M. Hickey, T. Shields, DMF
R. Amidon, M. King, DFG
J. Hobill, DEP
FDA, DPH
Shellfish Constables from the following towns: Gosnold, Falmouth, Mashpee, Barnstable, Yarmouth, Dennis, Harwich, Chatham, Orleans, Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, Provincetown, Brewster, Sandwich, Aquinnah, West Tisbury, Tisbury, Chilmark, Oak Bluffs, Edgartown and Nantucket