Natural Resource Committee Minutes – November 13 2019

Attendance: Sally Rizzo, Jeff Canha, Tom Robinson, Matt Hobart, David Hearn, John Crocker, Amandine Hall, James Tilton, Billy Sweeney, Michael Baptiste, Danielle Ewart.

1) **Election of Clerk**: in absence of a volunteer for the position of clerk, the committee voted to rotate the clerical responsibilities at each meeting and to do so in alphabetical order (first name). Starting with Amandine Hall for the November 13th meeting. The motion brought forth by Matt Hobart was voted unanimously.

2) **Committee Mission Statement**: the committee reviewed Jay Grande's suggestion and decided to keep it simple. The concepts of "protect and preserve" where brought up but also "responsible use". Sally agreed to review the suggestions and combine for our next meeting.

3) Review of Regulations - Aquaculture - Waterways:

Waterways: Matt and Jeff explained the process that the waterways regulations have gone through with the Harbor Committee prior to dissolution. They feel the new regulations are almost ready and will not need much change from the NRC. The NRC agreed to review the regulations and proposed changes and discuss at the next meeting.

Aquaculture: the new aquaculture regulations are also almost ready. They have been inspired by other Town's regulations and reviewed by the Division of Marine Fisheries. There was also a public comment period, which is now closed. NRC will review regulations and make comments at next meeting.

4) **2020 mooring fee increase**: after presenting a history of mooring rate increases and information on mooring lease fees in other MV towns, the Harbor Master asked the NRC votes a 7.5% increase in 2020 and 10% increases in 2022 and 2024. Jeff felt that the current mooring fees were adequate. David recalled that the Town had requested that the harbor produces more income. After discussion, a motion was brought forward to increase mooring fees by 7.5% for 2020 but not to include the 2022 and 2024 increases: 6 approved/3 abstained: motion passed.

5)**Embarkation Fee Committee Representation**: the Embarkation Fee Committee is looking for a representative. Matt has been the representative in the past and is happy to continue. Motion was brought forth for Matt Hobart to be the NRC representative for the Embarkation Fee Committee and was approved unanimously.

6) **Coastal Grant subcommittee**: was created: Sally Rizzo, Matt Hobart, Jeff Canha and James Tilton.

7) **Other**: Committee asked for Shellfish Constable Danielle Ewart to give them information and background on the hardship process for commercial shellfish licenses. Amandine Hall distributed 3 documents on the West Arms to be reviewed by the committee members regarding the MV Shipyard expansion. Selectman Melinda Loberg announced that they did not appoint a new person to the committee yet but voted to add 3 alternates.