Community Preservation Committee

The Community Preservation Act (CPA) enables Massachusetts communities to levy a surcharge on property tax bills to raise funds to expand their open space, historic, recreational and affordable housing assets. These funds are supplemented by a State match that is raised by a filing fee at State Registry of Deeds and has ranged from 20% to 100% of the amount raised by the Town of Tisbury. Tisbury voters approved our town’s participation at the Town Meeting in April, 2005, and the subsequent Town election.  The average annual CPA surcharge to Tisbury residents is about $188.

A nine-member Community Preservation Committee (CPC) helps develop and administer projects funded with CPA monies. It encourages participation by interested community members. All six island towns have adopted the CPA for their communities.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Heidi Dietterich Administrative Assistant

Members as Appointed by their respective Boards and Commissions

NameDesignated ByTerm Expires

Paul Munafo

Chair, Board of Selectmen


Cheryl Doble

Planning Board


John Best

Conservation Commission


Trip Barnes

Board of Selectmen


John Bacheller

William St. Historic District


Abbe Burt

Affordable Housing Committee


Tomar Waldman

Department of Public Works


Dave Ferraguzzi

Board of Selectmen


Victor Capoccia

Board of Selectmen