
INFORMATION ABOUT BOAT EXCISE 

 

BOAT EXCISE:  You must pay an excise tax for a boat you own on July 1 and moor or locate 

in Massachusetts. The excise is assessed for the fiscal year that begins on that date. Bills are 

issued by the city or town where you moor or dock the boat for the summer season, or where the 

boat is registered or principally located if it is not moored or docked for the summer. The excise 

valuation is determined by the length and age of the boat under a schedule established by 

General Laws Chapter 60B §2(c).  

 

RETURNS. You must file a return by August 1 with the assessors of the city or town where the 

boat is moored or docked for the summer season, or registered or principally located if it is not 

moored or docked for the summer. Your abatement rights may be lost, or the amount of 

abatement limited, if you do not timely file a return.  

 

ABATEMENTS. You may be entitled to an abatement (or a refund if the excise has been paid) 

if the boat is valued at more than the valuation listed in the statutory schedule for the length and 

age of the boat. Abatements may also be granted if you do any of the following during the same 

fiscal year: (1) transfer ownership of the boat, or (2) move out of Massachusetts, and if required 

to register the boat, register it there and cancel or not renew the Massachusetts registration. You 

are not entitled to an abatement if you (1) cancel your registration and retain ownership of the 

boat, or (2) change the location or registration of the boat to another Massachusetts city or town 

during the same fiscal year. Abatements are pro-rated by the number of months in the fiscal year 

after the month the last eligibility requirement takes place. 

 

DEADLINE. Your abatement application must be received by the board of assessors within 

three years after the excise was due, or one year after the excise was paid, whichever is later. To 

preserve your right to an abatement and to appeal, you must file on time. By law, assessors may 

only act on late applications in limited circumstances where the excise is still unpaid and their 

decision in those cases is final.  

 

PAYMENT. Filing an application does not stay the collection of your excise. Failure to pay the 

excise when due may subject you to interest, collection costs, a penalty of $20.00, or 20% of the 

excise, whichever is greater, and collection action, including loss of mooring or docking 

privileges. To avoid any collection charges or action, you must pay the excise in full within 60 

days of the bill’s issue date. You will receive a refund if an abatement is granted.  

 

DISPOSITION. The assessors have 3 months from the application filing date to act unless you 

agree in writing to their request to extend the action period for a specific time. If the assessors do 

not act on your application within the original or extended period, it is deemed denied. You will 

be notified in writing if an abatement has been granted or denied.  

 

 

 

CONTACT THE ASSESSORS’ OFFICE IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT 

YOUR EXCISE BILL OR ABATEMENT RIGHTS 

 



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 

 

 

Boat/Ship/Vessel Excise  –  

 

Defined:    MGL CH. 60B, Sec. 2 (a)  “Except as hereinafter provided  there shall be assessed 

and levied by each city and town in each fiscal year on every vessel, and its equipment, for the 

privilege of using the waterways of the commonwealth, an excise measured by the value 

thereof, as hereinafter defined and determined, at the rate of ten dollars per thousand of 

valuation.” 

 

Filing Requirement:    MGL CH 60B, Sect 2 (b)   “Any person who owns such a vessel on July 

first shall annually, on or before August first, make a return on oath to the assessors ….setting 

forth the vessel’s registration or documentation number, if any;  an adequate description ,as 

well as the owner’s estimate of the fair cash value of said vessel, as of the next preceding July 

first;…” 

 

Habitually moored or docked – The place where the owner has usual mooring or dockage for the 

summer season. 

 

Principally situated – For a registered ship or vessel, the place where it is registered, and for a 

non registered ship or vessel, whether documented or not, the city or town in Massachusetts 

where it is principally located during the calendar year. 

 

Vessel – Every watercraft, including documented boats and ships, used or capable of being used 

as a means of transportation on water, and includes all equipment, including mode of power, and 

furnishings that are normally required aboard the vessel during accomplishment of the functions 

for which the vessel is being utilized. 

 

VALUATION CHART 

 

    Under 4  4 thru 6  7 or More 

Length    Years of Age  Years of Age  Years of Age 

 

Under 16'  $      1,000   $         700   $         400  

16' but less than 17.5'  $      1,500   $      1,000   $         800  

17.5' but less than 20'  $      3,000   $      2,000   $      1,500  

20' but less than 22.5'  $      5,000   $      3,300   $      2,500  

22.5' but less than 25'  $      7,500   $      5,000   $      3,800  

25' but less than 27.5'  $     10,500   $      7,000   $      5,300  

27.5' but less than 30'  $     14,000   $      9,300   $      7,000  

30' but less than 35'  $     18,500   $     12,300   $      9,300  

35' but less than 40'  $     24,000   $     16,000   $     12,000  

40' but less than 50'  $     31,500   $     21,000   $     15,800  

50' but less than 60'  $     41,000   $     27,300   $     20,500  

60' or over  $     50,000   $     33,000   $     24,800  

 


